Adequate acoustic treatment, a profitable investment for your open space?

Questions, phones, emails, notifications, pop-ups, messages, 6 different potentialities to be interrupted daily. At 20 minutes on average for a return to concentration, two hours lost.

In open space, add a minimum of 6 interruptions generated by unrelated noises, 2 more useless hours, a total of 4 hours of productivity per day soaring. These figures are freely accessible, please check for yourself.

Or contact a professional …

Why silence or near silence is a must, not an ANC system

Sometimes active noise cancelling may help, a little, because they can reduce background noise, just like that help a bit with sound engines reduction in airplanes. But these mostly work by detecting cycles of sound. So, by design they will work better with aviation engine sounds that are inherent cyclic, but not so much with conversation noises or other essentially non linear noises. Also, for this to work you need to know precisely the location of the sound, so while it is fine at the entrance of the ear canal, anywhere else forget it, trajectories are too unpredictable to be cancelled at all. You may very well in fact end up with more noise. Besides, adding sound and music in order to dissimulate noise, globally is a very bad idea. If a human needs a peaceful and silent environment to enjoy himself or be performant, then this is what he needs. Not another fancy ANC system and not one more headset. Period. Do you want to convince yourself of that? Go to a palace, anywhere in the world, it is not cultural, intuitively, unconsciously, if someone can afford it he will go for a quiet sound environment.

Why are better soundscapes desirable?

Let’s go back to the bush for a second. Back then, you were immersed in an ultra peaceful 360° soundscape. Most of the noises around were soothing sounds: wind in the leaves of high trees, a river nearby, small streams or friendly grass eating animals munching in the near vicinity, relax and safe in the knowledge that since you had some mouthfuls of berries not long ago they were not in the immediate danger of you hitting them with a large rock. You got the idea, your soundscapes back then were quiet and mostly harmless, most of the time. This by the way is possibly the exact reason why almost any self aid, religious or self development book at hand will suggest, recommend or even urge you to save time for walks in the forest as much as you possibly can.

Why is sound so important for our well-being?

Your ears are on 24/7. Once your eyes are closed, all the processing power dedicated to the vision is reassigned to sound. You then hear the soundscape much better, in more details …

Our thinking part, the mind, can hope to make us believe that strong, annoying, persistent sounds or bad acoustics have no influence on us. In fact, the impact takes place anyway, it has even happened before any choice from “our behalf” can be made.

To give you an idea of the processing speeds of different parts of our brain: the thoughts you have, the decisions or ideas generated, all this happens in a window of a few hundred milliseconds. It’s very slow compared to other instinctive or intuitive processes in some of your brain regions that work in milliseconds. So keep in mind that even if your mind thinks itself as fast, a very old process, a little simplistic, is already proving faster: You are ready to run away, to stress or fight, your reptilian brain has managed the whole process, you hardly realize what is going on, but the game is already played …

Wish for great sound? Stokata.IO

Do you often dream sound around you was amazing. Do you wish you could have & share that experience?

Stokata IO is an Immersive / Imaginary / Invisible / Infinite Orchestra & multichannel concert. Stokata IO also is a conference/expérience on the future of audio or an Art Installation, depending on the demand and context.

More on Stokata.IO

Why better understanding and treating our soundscapes contributes to creating a better world for us to live in.

Although today we like to see ourselves as 21st century urban beings, we are still mostly hunter-gatherers. Our body anyway. In fact, just 10 000 years ago, we roamed the countryside in tribes. Almost yesterday, then, the greatest danger we could face was being hunted by a large furry animal. For this, we are still staffed by an effective internal security officer, who has obvious advantages in being quick, especially when we are hunted by large animals. So part of us is incredibly fast and makes decisions that go far beyond our personal “will”, but which nevertheless greatly affect our well-being. These decisions are often based on sound cues and the part of us in charge is our automatic brain / reptilian … it conveys its once live saving requests via hormones such as cortisol, the stress hormone …

 

 

Stokata IO | Live immersive audio

Short show @ Motiongraphics 10.10.19 | 18h30

Stokata IO, an immersive sound experience, a concert, a workshop. To share & discover the beauties of augmented audio.

When someone’s sad he listens to the lyrics, when he is happy he listens to the music…
Or, he enjoys the space between the notes.

 

Second Thursdays in Sévelin 32b, c/o Co-working Motiongraphics,

Do you like beauty, open spaces, serenity & music?
Immersive audio is for you! October 10 with:

> Stokata Invisible Orchestra
> Local beer, rosé & lemonade
> Cultural & sound experience

 

https://www.stokata.io/
https://www.paa-consulting.com/

SuperDiff experience at Responsive.org October 1st – Meetup

Immersive audio experience & conference, with Stokata invisible orchestra….

Program
> Presentation of the Superdiff context and concept
> Listen to a musical title in sound immersion, mixed in front of you
> Questions & Answers
> Listen to other kinds of music to choose from …

More info & booking

Out of the box

I used to partly own a recording studio. A real one, with tape machines, large console, large Schroeder resonators and leasings costs slightly larger than the GDP of a small developing country. Despite all the attention and energy we gave to this place, including a Tom Hidley built control room, drums always sounded crap.

Well, coming in one fine morning I heard this gigantic drum sound going from the control room. It was beautiful, it was huge and it was a first. So that day I skipped the coffee machine stopover altogether and rushed to the drum room where the customer, the drummer and sound guys were, all watching in owe the kit in question surrounded by a grand total of two microphones, one close, one distant. That was it.

When I enquired about this absolute miracle, the guys said they came in early and were just having fun. Then right away, as if nothing ever happened, they unplugged the two condensers mics and started a “proper” miking set-up of the thing, complete with overheads, mics on everything, upper and lower snare mics, noise gates, compressors, tube preamps, the whole usual shebang, Approximately one hour and a half later, I heard the studio’s signature, the usual feeble sounding asthmatic drum, along with the proper sentential ”this is how everybody does it, the is how we always done it, so this is how it must be done” statement. Oh well those were the 90’s…

Un traitement acoustique adéquat,  investissement rentable pour votre open space?

Questions, téléphones, emails, notifications, pop-ups, messages, 6 potentialités différentes d’être interrompu quotidiennement. A 20 minutes en moyenne pour un retour à la concentration, deux heures de perdues.

En open space, ajoutez un minimum de 6 interruptions générées par des bruits sans rapports, 2 heures inutiles en plus, soit en tout 4 heures de productivité par jour envolée. Ces chiffres sont librement accessibles, vérifiez.

Ou contactez un professionnel…

Pourquoi le silence est une nécessité, pas un système ANC

Parfois, l’annulation du bruit peut aider, (Active Noise Cancellation) un peu, car elle peut réduire le bruit de fond, tout comme elle aide un peu à la réduction du bruit de moteurs dans les avions. Mais ceci fonctionne principalement en détectant des cycles sonores. Donc, par leur conception, ces principes fonctionneront mieux avec des moteurs d’avionique dont le son est cyclique, qu’avec des bruits essentiellement non linéaires, comme ceux de conversation ou autre. Aussi, cela fonctionne seulement pour un endroit très précis, par exemple à l’entrée du canal auditif. Partout ailleurs les trajectoires sont trop imprévisibles pour être annulées et vous pouvez même fort bien vous retrouver avec plus de bruit. Finalement, ajouter du son, de la musique afin de supprimer le bruit est globalement une très mauvaise idée. Si l’humain a besoin d’un environnement paisible et silencieux pour s’amuser ou être performant, alors c’est ce dont il a besoin. Pas d’un système ANC de plus, headset ou non. Point. Voulez-vous vous en convaincre? Allez dans un palace, n’importe où dans le monde, ce n’est pas culturel, intuitivement, inconsciemment, si quelqu’un peut se le permettre, il optera pour un environnement sonore calme.

Pourquoi de meilleurs paysages sonores sont-ils souhaitables?

Retournons dans le bush une seconde. À l’époque, vous étiez en permanence plongé dans un espace sonore ultra paisible et naturellement immersif. La plupart des bruits d’alors étaient apaisants: vent dans les feuilles des grands arbres, rivière proche, petits ruisseaux,  sympathiques herbivores broutant à proximité, détendus et sûrs que, vu votre goût marqué pour les baies des bois, ils ne couraient pas de danger immédiat de se faire frapper derrière la tête avec un gros silex. Vous voyez l’idée, à l’époque, vos paysages sonores étaient principalement calmes et doux. C’est peut-être la raison exacte pour laquelle presque tous les courants religieux ou de développement personnel actuels suggèrent, recommandent ou même incitent à consacrer du temps pour les promenades en forêt…

Pourquoi le son a-t-il tant d’importance pour notre bien être?

Vos oreilles restent en service 24/24. Une fois vos yeux fermés, toute la puissance de traitement dédiée à la vision est ré-attribuée au son. Vous entendez alors l’espace sonore de manière bien meilleure, bien plus précise…

Notre partie pensante, le mental, peut espérer nous faire croire que des sons forts, gênants, persistants ou qu’une mauvaise acoustique n’ont aucune influence sur vous. En fait, l’impact a lieu de toute manière, il a même déjà eu lieu, avant qu’un choix quelconque de “votre part” puisse être fait.

Pour situer les vitesses de processing des différentes parties de notre cerveau: les pensées que vous avez, les décisions ou idées générés, tout cela se passe dans une fenêtre de quelques centaines de millisecondes. C’est très lent comparé à d’autres processus, instinctifs ou intuitifs de certaines de vos régions cérébrales, qui elles fonctionnent en quelques millisecondes. Gardez donc à l’esprit que même si votre mental se pense vif, un très ancien processus, un peu simplet, se révèle déjà plus rapide: Vous êtes prêt à fuir, à stresser ou combattre, votre cerveau reptilien à géré tout le processus, vous réalisez à peine ce qui se trame, mais la partie déjà est jouée…

Envie d’un bon son? Stokata.IO

Rêvez-vous d’un son fantastique tout autour de vous? Souhaitez-vous faire et partager cette expérience?

Stokata.IO est un Orchestre & Concert multicanal Immersif / Imaginaire / Invisible / Infini. Selon la demande ou le contexte, Stokata.IO est aussi une conférence/expérience sur le futur de l’audio ou une installation artistique.

Plus sur Stokata.IO

 

Pourquoi mieux comprendre et traiter nos paysages sonores contribue à créer un monde meilleur?

Même si aujourd’hui nous aimons nous voir comme des être urbains du XXIe siècle, nous sommes encore essentiellement des chasseurs-cueilleurs. Notre corps en tout cas. En effet, il y a 10’000 ans à peine, nous parcourions la campagne en tribus. Presque hier donc, le plus grand danger auquel nous puissions être confrontés était d’être chassé par un grand animal à fourrure. Pour cela, nous sommes encore dotés d’un responsable de la sécurité interne efficace, qui a des avantages évidents à être rapide, en particulier quand nous sommes chassés par de gros animaux. Ainsi une partie de nous se révèle être incroyablement rapide et prend des décisions qui vont bien au-delà de notre «volonté» personnelle, mais qui affectent néanmoins grandement notre bien-être. Ces décisions sont souvent basées sur des indices sonores et la partie de nous en charge est notre cerveau automatique / reptilien… elles sont véhiculées entre autre via des hormones telles que le cortisol, hormone du stress…

Stokata IO | Vivez l’audio immersive

Court concert @ Motiongraphics 10.10.19 | 18h30

Stokata IO, une expérience sonore immersive, un concert, un workshop. Pour découvrir les beautés de l’audio augmentée.

When someone’s sad he listens to the lyrics, when he is happy he listens to the music…
Or, he enjoys the space between the notes.

 

Seconds jeudis à Sévelin 32b, c/o Co-working Motiongraphics,

Vous aimez la beauté, les grands espaces, la sérénité & la musique? 

L’audio immersif est pour vous!  Le 10 octobre: 

> Stokata Invisible Orchestra
> Bière, rosé & limonades artisanales locales
> Expérience culturelle & sonore

1er Octobre – Expérience SuperDiff @ Responsive.org – Meetup

Expérience audio immersive et conférence , avec Stokata Invisible Orchestra….

Programme
> Présentation du contexte et du concept Superdiff
> Ecoute d’un titre musical en immersion sonore, mixé devant vous
> Questions & réponses
> Ecoute d’autres genres de musique au choix…

Plus d’info & inscriptions

 

Out of the box

J’ai été copropriétaire d’un studio d’enregistrement. Un vrai, avec des machines à bandes, une grande console, des résonateurs de Schroeder et des coûts de leasing mensuels légèrement supérieurs au PIB d’un pays en voie de développement. Malgré toute l’attention et l’énergie que nous avions donné à cet endroit, y compris une régie construite par Tom Hidley, la batterie avait toujours sonné de manière très très approximative…

En arrivant un matin, j’entend le son d’un kit géant extraordinaire en provenance de la drum room… C’était magnifique c’était énorme et c’était une première. Ce jour-là, j’ai sauté l’escale de la machine à café et me suis précipité vers la salle où se trouvaient le client, le batteur et les ingénieurs du son. Ils regardaient le kit en question avec une intensité particulière et une petite touche d’incrédulité, kit entouré d’un massif total de deux microphones, un proche, un lointain. c’est tout.

Quand je me suis renseigné sur ce miracle absolu, les gars ont dit qu’ils étaient venus tôt et qu’ils avaient juste fait ça pour s’amuser. Puis tout de suite, comme si rien ne s’était vraiment passé, ils ont débranché les deux micros vintage à condensateur et mis en place une configuration classique de prise de son, avec des overheads stéréo, des micros partout, deux sur la caisse claire et tout un tas de trucs électroniques, noise-gates, compresseurs, préamplis à tube, etc., le traitement habituel complet. Environ une heure et demie plus tard, j’ai entendu le typique son de batterie étroit, faible et poussif et le traditionnel « c’est comme ça que tout le monde fait, c’est comme ça qu’on a toujours fait, donc c’est comme ça qu’il faut faire”. Oh, bon, c’étaient les 90’s …